The Levels of British Eventing Explained

Eventing is the ultimate equestrian challenge, comprising of three phases dressage, show jumping and cross country. It can be likened to a triathlon, with horses and riders demonstrating a range of skills across the three disciplines. To compete successfully in eventing combinations must show harmony and rhythm in the dressage, balance and precision in the show jumping, and finally accuracy and bravery in the cross country phase. The combination with the lowest penalty score at the end of the event is the winner. As horses and riders move up the levels, the difficulty and technicality of the phases increases.*

British Eventing has two levels of competition - National and International competition levels.

National Competition Levels

There are ten National competition levels

  • BE80(T)
  • BE90
  • B100
  • BE100 Plus
  • BE105
  • Novice (N)
  • Intermediate Novice (IN)
  • Intermediate (I)
  • Advanced Intermediate (AI)
  • Advanced (A)


Starting with the introductory level of eventing is BE80(T). A BE90 dressage test is completed. The maximum height of the show jumping fences are 85cm and for cross country fences it is 80cm. Competitors also have access to BE Accredited Coaches for all the phases at events running these classes. The 'T' part of the class description stands for training.


At a BE90 level competition, the rider completes a BE90 dressage test with a maximum showjumping height of 95cm and the cross country is a maximum height of 90cm.


For the BE100 class a rider will complete a BE100 dressage test with a maximum showjumping height of 105cm and cross country of 100cm.

Grassroots Area Festivals

British Eventing has launched in 2021 the Science Supplements Area Festivals for the following levels BE80(T), BE80(T) Open, BE90, BE90 Open, BE100 and BE100 Open. This provides grassroots riders with an additional new competition opportunity for those that consistently gain double-clears. The Area Festivals will be held at four prestigious locations across the country and will be run as standalone events with Championship technicality courses and international size dressage arenas. The Area Qualifiers will be replacing the existing Regional Finals.

BE100 Plus

The BE100 Plus classes are designed as a step up from BE100 before the BE105 classes, they have a Novice level dressage test but a BE105 level show jumping (maximum height of 110cm) and BE100 level cross country (maximum height is 1.05cm)


The BE105 classes is designed to bridge the gap between BE100 classes and Novice classes. The dressage test is Novice level and the maximum showjumping height of fences is 110cm and for the cross country is 105cm.


The BE105 classes is designed to bridge the gap between BE100 classes and Novice classes. The dressage test is Novice level and the maximum showjumping height of fences is 110cm and for the cross country is 105cm.

BE Novice

The Novice (N) level class compromises of a Novice level dressage test, the Showjumping maximum height of the fences is 115cm, and the maximum height of the cross country fences is 110cm.

BE Intermediate Novice

Intermediate Novice (IN) is designed to bridge the gap between Novice and Intermediate classes with an Intermediate level dressage test, show jumping course (at a maximum height of 120cm) and a Novice level cross country course.

Novice Masters Series

British Eventing has also introduced a new Novice Masters series for 2021. The Novice Masters will run at Intermediate Novice level with five events pilot this new competition. The series aims to provide members with an achievable new goal and reward consistent performance at Novice level.

Combinations will qualify for the new series by achieving two double-clears. A bespoke dressage test designed especially for this class will be ridden, in an international sized arena with two dressage judges, Novice Masters competitors can also wear a Tailcoat for their test.


At Intermediate (I) level, the rider will complete an Intermediate dressage test, the show jumping fences are a maximum of 125cm, and cross country fences are a maximum height of 115cm.

Open Sections

Some classes will have an Open Section, these are special classes for horses that have British Eventing Points. Horses win BE Points at Novice level and above and there are some restrictions on the number of points a horse can have on its record in order to be able to compete in certain classes. Open classes do not have restrictions on the number of points a horse has. The Open class is displayed as BE90Open, ON, OI etc.

Advanced Intermediate

Advanced Intermediate (AI) classes have an Advanced Intermediate level dressage test, the show jumping course is set at a maximum height of 130cm and an Intermediate level cross country course with a maximum height of 115cm.


The top level of National Eventing competition is Advanced level (A), the rider will complete an Advanced dressage test, the Showjumping will have a maximum height of 1.30cm, and on cross country maximum height is 1.20cm.

International Competition Levels

The International levels of competition, which came into effect from the beginning of 2019. The FEI (Federation Equestre Internationale) renamed the international classes, below is a table of the previously known class and the New Class code*. There are two types of cross country course length, these are shown by S = Short and L = Long.

New class code from 2019 Previously known as Maximum Height
CCI1*-Intro New introductory level 1.05m
CCI2*-S CIC1* 1.10
CCI2*-L CCI1* 1.10
CCI3*-S CIC2* 1.15
CCI3*-L CCI2* 1.15
CCI4*-S CIC3* 1.20
CCI4*-L CCI3* 1.20
CCI5*-L CCI4* 1.30
Olympic Games and WEG - Special category Olympic Games and WEG 1.30

British Eventing at Eland Lodge

The above is a guide to the different levels of eventing competitions. To start your eventing experience why not enjoy Eland Lodge’s British Eventing fixtures on the 17th - 18th April and 26th - 27th June 2021, the classes start from BE80 up to Novice.

*British Eventing Rules and Members’ Handbook